Missing in the panel set up to frame India’s new mineral policy: Adivasis, ecologists, civil society

“The KR Rao committee was set up on the directions of the Supreme Court to check illegal mining.Does the KR Rao Committee ring a bell?”

“It was set up last month by the Union Ministry of Mines after the Supreme Court’s tough judgment on illegal iron ore mining in Odisha. As the ministry’s order announcing its creation shows, the committee has 29 members. No less than 25 of them are bureaucrats. Eight are joint secretaries in the Union government. Twelve are state mining secretaries. Niti Aayog, Geological Survey of India, Railway Board and the Indian Bureau of Mines get one member each. The chairman, K Rajeswara Rao, is an additional secretary in the Ministry of Mines,” writes M Rakshekhar.

Read more here



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s